Game Reviews

[PS Vita] Zettai Zetsubou Shoujo -Danganronpa Another Episode-

Finally! I was able to play this game! (◉◡◉✿)  I’m actually surprised that it hasn’t been too long since its 2015 release. It feels like it’s been at least two years… And yes, that means I bought a PS Vita! The game was interesting as expected since it’s different from the usual Danganronpa series. The typical Danganronpa games consist of a looking for clues + trial part, but this time was all action. It was nice to see that Naegi’s sister was okay from all that chaos. Also, who would have thought Fukawa would become the 2nd heroine of a game.

Overall Review after Gameplay:
Story: ★★★★★
Characters: ★★★★☆
Graphics: ★★★★☆
Gameplay: ★★★☆☆

It’s kinda sad that this is probably the last game for us to hear Doraemon’s voice (cv. Ooyama Nobuyo). It’s too bad that her role was only as the monokuma mobs though. If I remember correctly, Chibi Maruko-chan’s voice actor (cv. Tarako) is replacing Monokuma’s role since the original voice actor is suffering from dementia. It kinda makes me want to play the series all over again. Actually… I might since I’m reading the Danganronpa/Zero novel and purchased Danganronpa Reload due to the 50% off sale.

I don’t really have any complaints toward the game. I usually don’t rate stuff this high, but I really like the Danganronpa series, sooooo…
I might be a little biased ( ◔㉦◔ ).

The story begins with Naegi’s sister, Komaru held as prisoner for a year and a half. She doesn’t know who the culprit is behind this nonsense, but a meal is delivered to her room 3 times everyday. She was living her same boring life as always, until a Monokuma barged into her room, trying to kill her. When she escaped, she runs into Togami, which helps her escape. One thing leads to another and is caught by the children running things in the city. They caught her to determine whether she’s on their side since she’s still in high school, so kinda midway between child and adult. Ofc, Komaru disagrees on how the kids think, so she gets thrown out in the city where all the monokuma are running wild. Just when the monokuma are about to attack her, Fukawa/Genocider Sho comes to the rescue. Then on, Komaru tries to find a way to escape the city. On the other hand, Fukawa is on a mission to get Togami back since he was captured.

I actually think it’s kinda odd how people were still eating at restaurants while Komaru was being attacked. Does that mean the world was still peaceful when Togami saved Komaru? I’m still a bit confused, so I plan to play the games over again after the novel, so I’ll figure it out then. It’s true that I forgot some details especially because it’s been a while since I played the other two games. Chronologically, the series order is: Danganronpa 3 -The End of Kibougamine Gakuen- Zetsubou-hen (anime) → Danganronpa/Zero novel → Danganronpa (PSP) → Zettai Zetsubou Shoujo (PS Vita) → Super Danganronpa 2 (PSP) → Danganronpa 3 -The End of Kibougamine Gakuen- Mirai-hen (anime).

I have no complaints regarding the story.  I really liked how the game brings in relatives of the characters from the first game. Majority of the characters appear as wanted cards, so if you find them, there would be a little conversation event. A few actually appeared in the flesh, but well… A little too predictable, I would say ahaha. My only complaint is that I wanted more wanted characters to appear in the flesh. So if they didn’t appear, I assume they’re already dead? I especially wanted this one character to survive, but nope. When he died, I totally saw it coming. I’m like, I SWEAR THERE IS SOMETHING IN THAT ELEVATOR AND IT WILL KILL YOU!…and it really did happen ( ◉ ‸ ◉).

Overall, it was a fun experience. Since this is an action game, we get to have a weapon. There’s no flashy attacks, but yeah, we get a megaphone that shoots out waves that will  hack the monokuma. There are 8 different hacks. You can simply attack them, or paralyze, burn, blow them away, make it dance, and control the monokuma. The other two are for hacking machineries and to observe stuff. There are times when monokuma is hiding and surprise attacks you, so that scared me a couple of times. I do admit there are some complications when shooting, but otherwise, it’s ok? Honestly, I don’t remember the nitty gritty details since I played the game back in April. Oh yeah, there’s Fukawa’s Togami fantasies too. It was hilarious to watch, but I recommend wearing earphones when you get to that part bc if other people heard, they might misunderstand haha.

I would recommend to those who are fans of the Danganronpa series. If you haven’t played from the series and is interested in it, play the first Danganronpa game before you play this one, or you won’t know what’s going on.

One more thing…
Apparently, there’s going to be another Danganronpa game, but there’s no info released on that yet, so can’t wait!

 

 

Leave a Reply

